Skip to main content

CIS 110 Syllabus


Date Topics Example Code HW Assigned HW Due Lecture Recording Module Videos Recitation Materials Announcements
Wed, Sep 2, 2020 Introduction Recording First Day of Classes!
Fri, Sep 4, 2020 Getting Started and Drawing HW00 - Hello, World! Recording
Wed, Sep 9, 2020 Using Codio & Drawing MyHouse.java Recording
Fri, Sep 11, 2020 Variables and Types LeapYear.java Recording 1 - Intro to Variables and Data Types 2 - Variable Declarations
Mon, Sep 14, 2020 Variables and Types AgeMath.java Recording Recitation 1 Video Released
Tue, Sep 15, 2020 Course Selection Period Ends
Wed, Sep 16, 2020 Conditionals and Loops BouncingBall.java Recording 1 - Intro to Conditionals 2 - Command Line Arguments 3 - Switch Statements
Thu, Sep 17, 2020 HW00 @ 11:59pm!
Fri, Sep 18, 2020 Conditionals and Loops ParkingSign.java HW01 - Rivalry + ClickArt Recording
Mon, Sep 21, 2020 Conditionals and Loops FlipACoin.java Recording 1 - While Loop 2 - For Loop Recitation 2 Video Released
Wed, Sep 23, 2020 Conditionals and Loops NumberOfLeapYears.java Recording
Thu, Sep 24, 2020 HW01 @ 11:59pm!
Fri, Sep 25, 2020 Arrays ArgsCalculator.java HW02 - NBody Recording 1 - Introduction to Arrays 2 - Declaring Arrays 3 - Using Arrays 4 - Explicit Array Declaration
Mon, Sep 28, 2020 Arrays BouncingBallN.java Recording
Wed, Sep 30, 2020 Arrays ClosestTwo.java Recording
Thu, Oct 1, 2020 HW02 @ 11:59pm!
Fri, Oct 2, 2020 Functions StringCounter.java HW03 - Hail Caesar! Recording 1. Introduction to Functions 2. Anatomy of a Function 3. Control Flow with Functions 4. Method Overloading
Mon, Oct 5, 2020 Functions NameSwapper.java Recording Recitation 3 Video Released
Wed, Oct 7, 2020 Recursion and Searching BinarySearch.java Recording
Thu, Oct 8, 2020 HW03 @ 11:59pm!
Fri, Oct 9, 2020 Recursion and Searching HW04 - Recursive Finger Exercises + Sierpinski Recording 1. Introduction to Recursion 2. Tracing Recursion
Mon, Oct 12, 2020 Recursion and Searching Recursion.java Recording Recitation 4 Video Released Drop Period Ends
Wed, Oct 14, 2020 Recursion and Searching BinarySearchRec.java Recording
Thu, Oct 15, 2020 HW04 @ 11:59pm!
Fri, Oct 16, 2020 Catch Up Note - no homework assigned this week.
Mon, Oct 19, 2020 Objects Student.java TestStudents.java Recording 1. Introduction to Object Oriented Programming 2. Classes 3. Encapsulation
Wed, Oct 21, 2020 Objects Ball.java BouncingBallObjectDemo.java Recording
Fri, Oct 23, 2020 HW05 - NBody Objects No lecture - Midterm 1
Mon, Oct 26, 2020 Objects and Class Design Pet.java (don't submit) Abstraction Worksheet Recording 1. Class Design & Abstraction 2. Abstract Data Types & Interfaces Recitation 5 Video Released
Wed, Oct 28, 2020 Objects and Class Design Book.java BookRecommender.java (completed) Recording
Thu, Oct 29, 2020 HW05 @ 11:59pm!
Fri, Oct 30, 2020 Abstract Data Types (ADTs) and Interfaces Shape.java Square.java (can submit) Circle.java (can submit) ShapeDemo.java HW06 - Movie Theater Grade Type Change Deadline
Mon, Nov 2, 2020 Unit Testing Recitation 6 Video Released
Wed, Nov 4, 2020 References in Java
Thu, Nov 5, 2020 HW06 @ 11:59pm!
Fri, Nov 6, 2020 Linked Nodes HW07 - Traveling Salesperson Problem (TSP)
Mon, Nov 9, 2020 List ADT, Linked Lists Last Day to Withdraw
Wed, Nov 11, 2020 Array Lists
Thu, Nov 12, 2020 HW07 @ 11:59pm!
Fri, Nov 13, 2020 Binary and Hexadecimal HW08 - Image Steganography
Mon, Nov 16, 2020 Encryption, LFSR Recitation 7 Video Released
Wed, Nov 18, 2020 2D Arrays
Fri, Nov 20, 2020 2D Arrays
Mon, Nov 23, 2020 Comparing Objects
Wed, Nov 25, 2020 HW08 @ 11:59pm! No class!
Fri, Nov 27, 2020 No class!
Mon, Nov 30, 2020 Comparing Algorithms and Big-Oh, Merge Sort (TBD)
Wed, Dec 2, 2020 Bag ADT
Fri, Dec 4, 2020 HW09 - Project No lecture - Midterm 2
Mon, Dec 7, 2020 Special Topics
Wed, Dec 9, 2020 Special Topics
Thu, Dec 10, 2020 Special Topics Monday Schedule on a Thursday. Last day of classes!
Fri, Dec 18, 2020 HW09 - Project @ 11:59pm! Congratulations on finishing CIS 110!