Undergraduate TA Hall of Fame

Every May, the CIS faculty nominates from among the graduating class a few students that have made extraordinary contributions to our teaching mission. Working as TA, often head TAs, they have gone beyond the call of duty in raising the quality of our classes.

Class of 2020

Hana Pearlman, BSE in Computer Science
Semesters as a TA:
Spring 2017: CIS 110 mentor
Fall 2017 – Spring 2018: CIS 120
Fall 2018: CIS 121
Spring 2019: CIS 320
Spring 2020: CIS 320, Head TA
Email: hanap@sas.upenn.edu 


Steven Bursztyn, BSE in Computer and Information Science
Semesters as a TA:
Spring 2018: CIS 121
Spring 2019: CIS 501
Fall 2018 – Spring 2020: CIS 121, Head TA
Email: bursztyn@seas.upenn.edu


Brandon Joel Gonzalez, BSE in Computer Science, MSE in Robotics
Semesters as a TA:
Fall 2018 – Spring 2019: CIS240
Summer 2019: CIT593
Fall 2019: CIS380 + CIS501
Spring 2020: CIS371 + CIS548 (Head TA)
Summer 2020: CIT595 (Cohead TA)
Email: bgonz@seas.upenn.edu


Diana Marsala, BAS and MSE in Computer and Information Science, BA Linguistics

Semesters as a TA:
Spring 2017, Fall 2017, Spring 2018: CIS 120
Fall 2019: CIS 521
Spring 2019: CIS 530, Head TA
Spring 2019, Fall 2019, Spring 2020: CIS 350, Head TA
Email: marsalad@sas.upenn.edu

 


Artemis Panagopoulou, BAS in Computer Science and Cognitive Science, BA in Philosophy and Cognitive Science, MSE in Computer and Information Science
Semesters as a TA:
Spring 2018: CIS 262
Spring 2019, Spring 2020: OMCIT 592, coHead TA
Email: artemisp@seas.upenn.edu

 


Jane Xu, BSE in Computer and Information Science
Semesters as a TA:
Spring 2017: CIS 110 mentor
Fall 2017 – Spring 2018: CIS 120
Fall 2018 – Spring 2020: CIS 120, Head TA
Email: xuyuan@seas.upenn.edu

Class of 2019


John Geyer, BSE in Computer and Information Science, BA Mathematics
Semesters as a TA:
Fall 2017 – Spring 2018: CIS 121
Fall 2018 – Spring 2019: CIS 121, Head TA
Email: geyerj@sas.upenn.edu

 


Aaron Hallac, BSE in Computer Science, BS

Semesters as a TA:
Spring 2016 – Fall 2016: CIS160
Spring 2017 – Fall 2018: CIS 160, Head TA
Spring 2019: CIS 339
Email: hallaca@seas.upenn.edu

 


Jessica Landon, BAS in Computer Science, BA in Cognitive Science
Semesters as a TA:
Spring 2017 – Spring 2018, Spring 2019: CIS 160
Email: landonj@seas.upenn.edu

 


Sadat Shaik, BSE and MSE in Computer And Information Science
Semesters as a TA:
Spring 2016: CIS 160
Fall 2016 – Spring 2017: CIS 121
Fall 2017 – Spring 2018: CIS 121, Head TA
Spring 2019: CIS 700-004
Fall 2019: CIS 121, Head TA
Spring 2020: CIS 522, Head TA
Email: sshaik@seas.upenn.edu

Class of 2018


Krishna Bharathala, MSE in Computer Science, BSE in Computer Science, BS in Economics 
Semesters as a TA:
Spring 2015 – Spring 2016: CIS 160
Spring 2016: CIS195
Fall 2016 – Fall 2017: CIS 160, Head TA
Spring 2018: CIS 121, Head TA
Spring 2018: CIS505
Email: kbharathala@gmail.com

 


Shawn Ong, MA in Mathematics, BA in Mathematics; Computer Science; and Logic, Information, and Computation
Semesters as a TA:
Spring 2016 – Spring 2018: CIS 160, Solutions Committee: Fall 2016 – Spring 2018
Email: shawnong60@hotmail.com

 


Seth Bartynski, BSE in Networked and Social Systems
Semesters as a TA:
Fall 2015 – Spring 2018: CIS 160, Solutions Committee: Fall 2016 – Spring 2018
Email: sbarty@seas.upenn.edu

Class of 2017


Alex Liao, MS in Physics, BA in Physics, BSE in Computer Science 
Semesters as a TA:
Fall 2014: CIS 160
Spring 2015: CIS 121
Fall 2015 – Fall 2016: CIS 160, Head TA
Email: alexliao1995@gmail.com

 


Margaret Li, BAS in Computer and Information Science, Minor in Mathematics
Semesters as a TA:
Fall 2015 – Spring 2017: CIS160
Email: hadasah@gmail.com

 


Alex Peckman, BSE in Computer Science, Minor in Mathematics

Semesters as a TA:
Fall 2015: CIS 240
Spring 2016: CIS 240, Head TA
Fall 2016: CIT 593, Head TA
Spring 2017: CIS 240, Head TA
Email: apeckman@seas.upenn.edu

Class of 2016


Jacob Hart, BSE in Computer Engineering and Wharton Individualized Major, Minor in Mathematics
Semesters as a TA:
Fall 2013 – Fall 2015: STAT 430 (every semester in this duration)
Spring 2014: CIS 121
Fall 2014: CIS 262
Spring 2015, Fall 2015, Spring 2016: CIS 320, Head TA for CIS 320 in Spring 2016
Fall 2015: CIS 677
jhart@wharton.upenn.edu

Class of 2015


Alan Aquino, BSE in Computer Engineering, Minor in Japanese Studies
Semesters as a TA:
Fall 2013: CIS 191
Spring 2014: ESE 171
Fall 2014: CIS 240
aaquino@seas.upenn.edu

 


Mainak Datta, BSE in Computer Science, MSE in Computer Science
Semesters as a TA:
Spring 2012 – Fall 2014: CIS 110, Head TA Fall ’13 – Sp ’14
Current Graduate Student at the University of Pennsylvania
dattam@seas.upenn.edu

 


Lewis Ellis, BSE in Networked and Social Systems, Minor in Mathematics
Semesters as a TA:
Spring 2012 – Fall 2013: CIS 120
Spring 2014, 2015: CIS 121, Head TA in Spring 2015
Fall 2014: CIS 160, Head TA
me@lewisjellis.com

 

Kai Ninomiya, BSE in Computer Science, Minor in Physics, MSE in Computer Graphics and Game Technology
Semesters as a TA:
Fall 2012, 2013: CIS 191, Co-Instructor (2013)
Fall 2014: CIS 460/560
Spring 2014, 2015: CIS 277
kainino@seas.upenn.edu

 


Tiernan Garsys, BSE in Computer Science

Semesters as a TA:
Fall 2012 – Spring 2015: CIS 120, Head TA
tgarsys@gmail.com

 


Adam Mally, BSE in Digital Media Design, MSE in Computer Graphics and Game Technology

Semesters as a TA:
Fall 2011: CIS 106
Spring 2012, 2013: CIS 277
Fall 2013: CIS 560
Spring 2014: CIS 277, Head TA
Spring 2015: CIS 277, Instructor
amally@seas.upenn.edu

 


David Mally, BSE & MSE in Computer Science

Semesters as a TA:
Fall 2012: CIS 110
Spring 2013, Fall 2013, Fall 2014: CIS 240
Spring 2014: CIS 371, Head TA
dmally@seas.upenn.edu

 


Louis Petro, BAS in Computer and Cognitive Science, BA Cognitive Science, Minors in Nutrition and Mathematics

Semesters as a TA:
Fall 2013 – Spring 2015: CIS 110
Lpetro712@gmail.com

 


Varun Prabakar, BS in Statistics and Finance

Semesters as a TA:
Fall 2013 – Spring 2015: CIS 160, Head TA Since Fall 2014
varunprabakar93@gmail.com

 


Max Scheiber, BSE in Computer Science, MSE in Computer Science, BS in Finance and Statistics (Wharton)

Semesters as a TA:
Spring 2012 – Spring 2013: CIS 120
Fall 2013 – Spring 2015: CIS 121, Head TA during Fall 2014 & Spring 2015
maxnscheiber@gmail.com

 


Lily Wang , BSE in Computer Science

Semesters as a TA:
Fall 2012 – Spring 2015: CIS 110, Head TA Fall 2014 – Spring 2015
Spring 2014 – Spring 2015: CIS 350
Spring 2014 – Spring 2015: CIS 573
lilyw.416@gmail.com

Class of 2014


Jamie “Ariella” Levine, BSE in Computer Science and Cognitive Science, Minor in Linguistics
Semesters as a TA:
Fall 2012 – Spring 2015: CIS 110, Head TA Fall 2013 – Spring 2015
Email: yasharkoach@gmail.com

 


Harmony M. Li, BSE in Computer Science, MSE (May 2015)
Semesters as a TA:
Spring 2012 – Spring 2014: CIS 120, Head TA Fall 2012 – Spring 2014
Fall 2014: CIS 565
Email: harmoli@seas.upenn.edu

 


Pulak Mittal, BAS in Computer Science, BSE in Economics, Wharton
Semesters as a TA:
Spring 2011 and Fall 2011: CIS 120
Spring 2012: CIS 320
Fall 2012 and Spring 2013: CIS 121, Head TA
Email: pulak@emeraldexam.com

 

Andrei Nagornyi, BA in Mathematics and Computer Science
Semesters as a TA:
Fall 2012 – Spring 2014: CIS 121, Head TA Fall 2012 and Spring 2014
Email: anagornyi@gmail.com

 


Grace Wang, BS in Finance and Computer Science
Semesters as a TA:
Fall 2011 and Spring 2012: CIS 120
Spring 2013 and Fall 2014: CIS 121, Head TA Fall 2014
Email: gracewang92@gmail.com