CIS Seminars & Events

Spring 2009

Thursday, January 29, 2009
Ryan MacDonald
Google Research
"Mining and Summarizing Opinions from the Web"

Thursday, February 19, 2009
Moses Charikar 
Dept. of Computer Science, Princeton University  
"New Insights into Semidefinite Programming for Combinatorial Optimization"

Tuesday, March 3, 2009
Sharon Goldberg
Electrical Engineering, Princeton University

Thursday, March 5, 2009
Eugene Charniak
Computer Science Department, Brown University
"EM Works for Pronoun-Anaphora Resolution"

Tuesday, March 17, 2009
MSSE Speaker
Andreas Haeberlen
Computer Science Dept.
Rice University

Thursday, March 19, 2009
Stefan Savage
Department of Computer Science and Engineering, University of California, San Diego
"Spamalytics: Exploring the Technical and Economic Underpinnings of Bulk E-mail Scams"

Tuesday, March 24, 2009
David Pennock
Yahoo Research

Thursday, March 26, 2009
Ashish Goel
Management Science and Engineering, Stanford University
"Algorithms at the Molecular Scale"

Tuesday, March 31, 2009
Alan Mislove
Max Planck Institute for Software Systems

Thursday, April 2, 2009
Tom Reps
Computer Sciences Department, University of Wisconsin-Madison
"WYSINWYX: What You See Is Not What You eXecute"

Tuesday, April 7, 2009
Andrew Odlyzko
School of Mathematics, University of Minnesota

Thursday, April 9, 2009
Mohammad Mahdian
Yahoo! Research

Tuesday, April 14, 2009
Duncan Watts
Yahoo Research 

Thursday, April 16, 2009
Saul Gorn Memorial Lecture

Tuesday, April 21, 2009
Dr. Ramesh Johari 
Stanford University
"The interaction of positive externalities and congestion effects in services"

Wednesday, April 22nd, 2009
Franklin Institute Symposium

Thursday, April 23rd, 2009
 WICS High School Day