Skip to main content

The lecture schedule will be updated as the term progresses.

Date Topic Readings
Tue, Aug 31, 2021 Course Intro
Tue, Sep 7, 2021 Text Classification + Sentiment Analysis Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 6 "Naive Bayes Classification and Sentiment"
Bo Pang, Lillian Lee and Shivakumar Vaithyanathan, Thumbs up? Sentiment Classification using Machine Learning Techniques
Thu, Sep 9, 2021 Word Sense + Log-linear Model + Perceptron Eisenstein, Chapter 2 "Linear Text Classification"
Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 5 "Logistic Regression"
Jurafsky and Martin, (optional) Chapter 18 "Word Sense and WordNet"
Fri, Sep 10, 2021 Homework 1
Tue, Sep 14, 2021 N-gram Language Modeling Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 3 "N-gram Language Modeling"
Thu, Sep 16, 2021 Part of Speech Tagging with Hidden Markov Models Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 8 "Part of Speech Tagging"
Tue, Sep 21, 2021 Feature Rich POS tagging + Constituency Parsing Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 8 "Part of Speech Tagging"
Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 12 "Constituency Grammars"
Thu, Sep 23, 2021 Dependency Parsing + Constituency Parsing Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 13 "Dependency Parsing"
Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 12 "Constituency Parsing"
Fri, Sep 24, 2021 Homework 2
Tue, Sep 28, 2021 Vector Spaces Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 6.1 - 6.7 "Vector Semantics and Embeddings"
Thu, Sep 30, 2021 Neural Word Vectors Eisenstein, Chapter 14 "Distributional and Distributed Semantics"
Thu, Sep 30, 2021 Quiz 1
Tue, Oct 5, 2021 Neural Word Vector Applications Eisenstein, Chapter 14 "Distributional and Distributed Semantics"
Thu, Oct 7, 2021 Introducation to Neural Networks Eisenstein, Chapter 3 "Nonlinear Classification"
Tue, Oct 12, 2021 Homework 3
Tue, Oct 12, 2021 Early Neural Network Language Models Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 7 "Neural Networks and Neural Language Models"
Thu, Oct 21, 2021 Sequence to Sequence Models + Translation Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 11 "Machine Translation and Encoder-Decoder Models"
Tue, Oct 26, 2021 Neural Machine Translation Eisenstein, Chapter 18
Thu, Oct 28, 2021 Information Extraction Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 17 "Information Extraction"
Tue, Nov 2, 2021 Homework 4
Tue, Nov 2, 2021 Semantic Role Labeling Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 19 "Semantic Role Labeling"
Thu, Nov 4, 2021 Transformers Alexander Rush, The Annotated Transformer
Mon, Nov 8, 2021 Project Proposal
Tue, Nov 9, 2021 Contextualized Embeddings Jay Alammar, Illustrated BERT
Thu, Nov 11, 2021 Coreference Resolution Eisenstein, Chapter 15
Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 21
Tue, Nov 16, 2021 Question Answering Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 23
Thu, Nov 18, 2021 Generation Jurafsky and Martin, chapter 24
Tue, Nov 23, 2021 No Class, Thanksgiving Week
Thu, Nov 25, 2021 No Class, Thanksgiving Week
Thu, Nov 25, 2021 Project Milestone 1
Tue, Nov 30, 2021 Guest Lecture, Lara Martin. Topic - Generating Stories
Thu, Dec 2, 2021 Topic - Gender Bias in NLP
Thu, Dec 2, 2021 Project Milestone 2
Tue, Dec 7, 2021 Guest Lecture (remote), Emma Strubell. Topic - Green AI
Thu, Dec 9, 2021 Project Milestone 3
Wed, Dec 15, 2021 Project Final
Thu, Dec 16, 2021 Project Presentation Date, Option 1
Tue, Dec 21, 2021 Project Presentation Date, Option 2