ACM Logo ACM Logo

TLDI 2012

Call for Papers and Contributed Talks

The Seventh ACM SIGPLAN Workshop on

Types in Language Design and Implementation


Philadelphia, PA, USA

Saturday, January 28, 2012

To be held in conjunction with POPL 2012



Important: This year TLDI is introducing a significant change to the workshop organization. There will be two distinct submission categories: full papers (with a published proceedings, as always) and 2-page proposals for talks on more speculative or unfinished work. The aim is to foster a more informal atmosphere in which new ideas can be discussed while maintaining the TLDI tradition of presentations of polished technical work.


The role of types and proofs in all aspects of language design, compiler construction, and software development has expanded greatly in recent years. Type systems, type-based analyses and type-theoretic deductive systems have been central to advances in compilation techniques for modern programming languages, verification of safety and security properties of programs, program transformation and optimization, and many other areas. The ACM SIGPLAN Workshop on Types in Language Design and Implementation brings researchers together to share new ideas and results concerning all aspects of types and programming, and is now an annual event. TLDI 2012 is the seventh workshop in the series and will be co-located with POPL in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania in January 2012.

Submissions for TLDI 2012 are invited on all interactions of types with language design, implementation, and programming methodology. This includes both practical applications and theoretical aspects. TLDI 2012 specifically encourages papers from a broad field of programming language and compiler researchers, including those working on object-oriented or dynamic languages, systems programming, mobile-code or security, as well as traditional fully-static type systems. Topics of interest include:

This is not meant to be an exhaustive list; papers on novel aspects or uses of types are welcome. Authors concerned about the suitability of a topic are encouraged to inquire via electronic mail to the program chair prior to submission.

Submission Guidelines

The submission site is now open.

Full papers should be no more than 12 pages (including bibliography and appendices). They will be judged on the usual criteria of novelty, usefulness, correctness, and clarity of exposition.

Informal talk proposals should be no more than 2 pages (including bibliography). These can be either technical or more general in nature; they will be judged on their promise of leading to an exciting or provocative talk.

The deadline for both submission categories is Monday, October 10, 2011 (at midnight, eastern US time). The submission deadline and length limitations are firm. Submissions that do not meet these guidelines will not be considered.

All submissions should be in standard ACM SIGPLAN conference format: two columns, nine-point font on a ten-point baseline. Detailed formatting guidelines are available on the SIGPLAN Author Information page, along with a LaTeX class file and template.

Papers must be submitted electronically via the workshop website ( in Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF) and must be formatted for printing on US Letter size (8.5"x11") paper. Authors for whom this is a hardship should contact the program chair before the deadline.

Submitted papers must adhere to the SIGPLAN Republication Policy. Submissions should contain original research not published or submitted for publication elsewhere.


As in previous years, accepted full papers will be published by the ACM and appear in the ACM digital library.

Important Dates

Submission deadline October 10, 2011 (Monday), 11:59pm, EDT
Notification November 10, 2011 (Thursday)
Workshop January 28, 2012 (Saturday)



Program Chair:


Benjamin C. Pierce
University of Pennsylvania
bcpierce atsign cis dot upenn dot edu


Program Committee: 

Jonathan Aldrich CMU
Adam Chlipala MIT
Pierre-Malo Deniélou Imperial College London
Kathleen Fisher Tufts University
Chris Hawblitzel Microsoft Research (Redmond)
Dan Licata CMU
Greg Morrisett Harvard University
Benjamin C. Pierce University of Pennsylvania
Dimitrios Vytiniotis Microsoft Research (Cambridge)


Steering Committee: 

Amal Ahmed Indiana University
Nick Benton Microsoft Research, Cambridge
Derek Dreyer MPI-SWS
Andrew Kennedy Microsoft Research, Cambridge
Francois Pottier INRIA Paris-Rocquencourt
Stephanie Weirich University of Pennsylvania