# **ACM Computer Science and Law Student Paper Competition Call for Student Entries**

The organizers of the inaugural ACM Symposium on Computer Science and Law invite students at the undergraduate and graduate levels to submit papers addressing topics on the intersection of computing and the law. The Symposium will be held October 28-29, 2019 at the New York Law School in the Tribeca neighborhood of NYC. Its main goals are to stimulate interest in computer science and law, broadly defined, and to articulate a research agenda, an educational agenda, and specific recommendations about how ACM and other interested institutions can support work in this emerging field. Suitable paper topics include but are not limited to:

- Security, privacy, encryption, and surveillance
- Cyber espionage, cyber war, and cyber diplomacy
- Cyber crime, cyber law enforcement, and digital forensics
- Freedom of expression online (or the lack thereof)
- Online market structure, platform monopolies, and antitrust law
- Online government services
- Digital intellectual property
- Legal informatics
- Automation of legal reasoning and legal services
- Fairness, accountability, transparency, and ethics (FATE) in machine learning and data mining
- Methodological compatibility and incompatibility between the discipline of computer science and the discipline of law

We encourage submissions of papers written for university courses covering topics in computing and law. Courses listed in departments or schools of computer science, law, public policy, information science, information studies, and other relevant disciplines are eligible. Additionally, we encourage students who have completed substantial course projects that aren't papers, including development of computer systems that address policy challenges, to submit papers that describe those projects and the findings and conclusions that the led to.

### **Dates**

- Symposium dates: 28-29 October, 2019
- Submission deadline: 10 June, 2019 (11:59 p.m. GMT)
- Notification deadline: 30 August, 2019
- Camera-ready poster deadline: 11 October, 2019

## **Submission Information**

- Submission format: 10,000 word (or 10-page ACM double-column format)
  - Notes: References do count toward the page limit, and submissions should not be anonymized.
- Authorship limit: All authors must be students.
  Submissions may have multiple authors. For multipleauthor submissions, one author must be designated to present the poster.

- Online Submission: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=cslaw2019
- The PC will select between 10 and 20 submissions for poster presentation at the October symposium.
   Between notifications on August 30 and the poster due date of October 11, members of the PC will work with the winners and advise them on poster production.
- The symposium organizers will provide a travel stipend for at least one student per successful submission to present their work and attend the entire symposium.

# Symposium Organizers

### **General Chair:**

Joan Feigenbaum (Yale University, Computer Science Department)

### **Program Co-Chairs:**

Pamela Samuelson (UC Berkeley, School of Law and Information School)

Daniel J. Weitzner (MIT, Internet Policy Research Initiative)

### **Program-Committee Members:**

Norman Barbosa (Microsoft)

Steven M. Bellovin (Columbia University, Computer Science Department)

Ryan Calo (University of Washington, School of Law)

Ran Canetti (Boston University, Computer Science Department)

Mishi Choudhary (Software Freedom Law Center, India)

Andrew Crocker (Electronic Frontier Foundation)

Lothar Determann (Baker McKenzie)

Niva Elkin-Koren (University of Haifa, School of Law)

Nathaniel Gleicher (Facebook)

James Grimmelmann (Cornell University, Law School and Cornell Tech)

James Hendler (RPI, Computer Science Department; ACM Global Policy & Public Affairs)

Jeanette Hofmann (Freie Universität Berlin, German Internet Institute)

Nicole Jones (Google)

Joshua Kroll (UC Berkeley Information School)

Brian LaMacchia (Microsoft)

Ilaria Liccardi (MIT, Internet Policy Research Initiative)

Stephanie Pell (West Point, Army Cyber Institute)

Aaron Roth (U. of Pennsylvania, Computer and Information Science Department)

Stefan Savage (UC San Diego, Computer Science and Engineering Department)

Nigel Shadbolt (University of Oxford, Jesus College and Computer Science Department)

Eli Sugarman (Hewlett Foundation, Cyber Initiative)

Nico van Eijk (University of Amsterdam, Information Law Program)

Eric Vandevelde (Gibson Dunn)

David C. Vladeck (Georgetown University, Law School)