CIT 594 Programming Languages & Techniques II
Spring 2010, David Matuszek

When you send me email about this course, please:

  • For CIT594, put 594 as part of the Subject: line.
  • For general email about the MCIT program, put MCIT as part of the Subject:line.
  • Send plain text only (not HTML or RTF).
  • Do not include any attachments.
  • Make sure your computer is virus-free.
Search:
Date Announcements
May 6, 2010 Here are the final exam results. (Last two programs have not yet been graded.)
Final exam scores Mean = 71.875
St. Dev. = 16.71
Older Previous announcements

 Meeting times
Lecture TR 4:30-6PM Towne 309
 Office hours
Instructor is Dr. Dave
(put "594" in Subject: line)
Whenever my door is open;
Specific office hours: 3:00-4:00 MTWR
Moore 176

Tuesdays 4:00-7:00;
Wednesdays 5:00-8:00

Weiss Tech House
TA is Kompally
(put "594" in Subject: line)
Mondays 4:30-6:30. Moore 100 (A, B, or C)
  
Links
Last year's CIT594
Academic Integrity Policy
Textbook
Dr. Dave's schedule
Blackboard and
Instructions for Using Zip Files and Blackboard
Java version test page
Eclipse: Getting started, Settings (both recommended and required), Preferences, FAQ, Tips
Software SwingExamples.jar
Tutorial Tutorials Point External site

Date Lectures Assignments, etc.
Thu Jan 14 PowerPoint Introduction to CIT594
PowerPoint Analysis of Algorithms I
 
Tue Jan 19 PowerPoint Recursion
Thu Jan 21 PowerPoint Stacks
General introduction to data structures
Assignment Recursive Drawings
More information RecursiveDrawings.java
Tue Jan 26 PowerPoint Binary Trees
PowerPoint Abstract Data Types
Thu Jan 28 PowerPoint Linked Lists
PowerPoint Trees
Assignment Tree ADT
More information Tree.java (Starter code)
Tue Feb 2 PowerPoint BNF
PowerPoint Hashing
 
Thu Feb 4 No class; go to Gayle Laakmann's talk! Assignment Tree Generation
Tue Feb 9 PowerPoint Using Maps
PowerPoint Comparisons
 
Thu Feb 11 Class cancelled due to snowstorm.
Tue Feb 16 PowerPoint Recognizers Assignment Recognizer
Thu Feb 18 PowerPoint State Machines
PowerPoint Tokenizers
Reading CIT 594 Exam Questions
Tue Feb 23 PowerPoint Parsers
PowerPoint Arrays
Assignment Parser
More information Parser.java and ParserTest.java
Thu Feb 25 PowerPoint Simple Sorting  
Tue Mar 2 Midterm #1
Thu Mar 4 Simple sorting, continued
PowerPoint Heapsort
 
Tue Mar 9 Spring Break (no classes)
Thu Mar 11 Spring Break (no classes)
Tue Mar 16 PowerPoint Searching
PowerPoint Effective Programming
Thu Mar 18 Discussion of interpreter assignment Reading Interpreter--The Big Picture
Reading Interpreter GUI
Assignment Interpreter assignment
More information Interpreter.zip
Tue Mar 23 PowerPoint Stacks, Queues, and Deques
PowerPoint Threads
Thu Mar 25 PowerPoint Lists
Tue Mar 30 PowerPoint Storage  
Thu Apr 1 PowerPoint Priority Queues
Tue Apr 6 PowerPoint Tree Searching
PowerPoint Graphs
Assignment Shortest Path
Thu Apr 8 Midterm #2
Tue Apr 13 PowerPoint Hypergraphs
Thu Apr 15 PowerPoint State-Space Searching
PowerPoint Concurrency
Assignment Automata
Tue Apr 20 No class (Saul Gorn lecture)
Thu Apr 22 PowerPoint Backtracking
PowerPoint Spanning Trees
Tue Apr 27 PowerPoint Quicksort
PowerPoint Pruning
PowerPoint Alpha-beta
Wed May 5 Final Exam 3:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Moore 216
This time is set by the Registrar and will not be changed.
If you have an exam conflict, you must take it up with the
instructor who is not following the Registrar's required
exam schedule.

Key
Assignment An assignment Software Software that will be useful in this course Reading An article, usually offsite Tutorial A tutorial
official spec Official specification (always offsite) PowerPoint A PowerPoint document, usually one of my lectures More information Additional information about the topic Example Example